Transport and travel

Darlington is a busy market town. However, with many different routes available to get in and out of town you will seldom find yourself waiting in traffic.

If you are living and working in Darlington our short commute times will be something you will love. Working in the town centre and living in the town could make commuting to and from work on foot or by bike an option for you. You can find out more about travelling by bike in Darlington, including maps, on the Let's Go Tees Valley website.

With a journey into London from two and a half hours by train, we have seen an influx of people moving to Darlington who use our convenient rail links. Bank Top Station is the main station in Darlington and is situated on the East Coast Main Line. From Darlington you can access direct and frequent train services to London, York, Leeds and Manchester as well as Newcastle, Edinburgh, Tees Valley and a whole host of other locations quickly and easily on LNER, Transpennine Express and Northern.

If you're travelling by train to and from Darlington, your journey is set to get even better in the future with plans for an ambitious redevelopment of Darlington's Bank Top station.

The nearest airport is Teesside International Airport which is about 6.5 miles away, Newcastle International Airport is 55 minutes by car and just over an hour away by train and Metro.

If you need to travel by car, our proximity to the A1 motorway makes getting to where you need to be outside Darlington a breeze, whether that is to the north or south.

👰‍♂️ Planning a hen or stag party? Take it to the next level with VIP booths from The Quays 🍻 They have a choice of packages available, with access to a private drinks booth ℹ️ Visit their Facebook page for further details Details ➡️ https://t.co/NI4Eq5UljN | #LoveDarlo https://t.co/sgeRn30MRd
07 May 2021 @17:00
📚 "The Devil and the Dark Water" by Stuart Turton is the thriller of the month at Waterstones Darlington 📖 This is a great read for fans of CJ Sansom, Andrew Taylor and SJ Parris 📍 You can find Waterstones Darlington in the @CornmillCentre #LoveDarlo https://t.co/gKBBVOp45T
07 May 2021 @14:00
RT @CornmillCentre: Scope in the Cornmill need you! If you're looking to volunteer & lend a helping hand whilst gaining valuable experienc… }
07 May 2021 @11:47
🎟 Coming soon to Darlington town centre: The #LoveDarlo Loyalty Card! 💵 The loyalty card will give you the opportunity to win big prizes each month when you spend with town centre businesses 👀 Keep your eyes peeled for further updates https://t.co/nnIO1osVjE
07 May 2021 @09:03