Markets

Darlington (Dearthington in Anglo Saxon times) is a large Market Town sitting atop North Yorkshire. It has a rich and proud history in the railway industry which was delivered by the vision of Quakers in Georgian and Victorian times; it was their money and philanthropy that delivered the first steam railway, the Stockton to Darlington railway, in 1825.

The Indoor Market opened on the 2nd May 1864 and the Outdoor Market can trace its’ history back to medieval times, in the twelfth century Darlington was named one of the Bishop’s Boroughs- giving it the right to hold markets. For over 400 years the open market has been trading on Saturdays and Mondays, a tradition which still holds true today.

Showing Results:

Sort by: |

A Google map plotting all the Things to Do's

👰‍♂️ Planning a hen or stag party? Take it to the next level with VIP booths from The Quays 🍻 They have a choice of packages available, with access to a private drinks booth ℹ️ Visit their Facebook page for further details Details ➡️ https://t.co/NI4Eq5UljN | #LoveDarlo https://t.co/sgeRn30MRd
07 May 2021 @17:00
📚 "The Devil and the Dark Water" by Stuart Turton is the thriller of the month at Waterstones Darlington 📖 This is a great read for fans of CJ Sansom, Andrew Taylor and SJ Parris 📍 You can find Waterstones Darlington in the @CornmillCentre #LoveDarlo https://t.co/gKBBVOp45T
07 May 2021 @14:00
RT @CornmillCentre: Scope in the Cornmill need you! If you're looking to volunteer & lend a helping hand whilst gaining valuable experienc… }
07 May 2021 @11:47
🎟 Coming soon to Darlington town centre: The #LoveDarlo Loyalty Card! 💵 The loyalty card will give you the opportunity to win big prizes each month when you spend with town centre businesses 👀 Keep your eyes peeled for further updates https://t.co/nnIO1osVjE
07 May 2021 @09:03